My First Day
* 2007-11-13 - 9:09 a.m. *

My first day at the new job was fantastic.
Met tons of people, learned tons of stuff and still have tons more to go.
I�m manning the office today so the hubster can do some stuff at home. I have a huge honey-do list that he needs to get done before I start working full time at Starschmucks.
***
I walked into the lobby and up to the counter. �Hi, I�m X. I�m the new girl.� I flashed my mildly white teeth and was offered a cup of coffee.
�No thanks. I�ll just sit over here.�
And I sat�.For a while.
The person I had talked to at the counter came over and sat in front of me. He was an interesting guy. He wore the typical birth control-gone hippy glasses, spiked blonde hair and earrings that were giant circles that stretched his holes out a bit. I found my self squinting and closing my right eye so that I could see through one of the above said holes like a scope of some sort.
�I�m Drew and I�m going to be your manager.�
�Awesome.� I un-squinted my eyes because I know that�s not a good look for me.
�Are you sure you don�t want any coffee? It�s free.�
�No thanks.� I kept thinking about how bad I needed to pee and how the 20oz bottle of Diet Mountain Doop was already giving me the caffeinated jitters.
Then Jess walked in. �I�m the new guy and I�m supposed to meet Sarah?� Yes he asked in a question.
The Doop was giving me courage and I walked over to him. �Hi, I�m X. I�m new too.� We shook hands and I invited him over to sit with me. He was nervous, but didn�t hesitate when they asked if he wanted a drink. �Sure, I�ll have a choco, moca, soy latte with extra cream.� Or something like that.
Ah hell, �You know what, I�ll have a coffee too. Um�.� I looked a the menu for a second, �I�ll have just regular black coffee. Thanks.�
Jeesh�.that was stressful.
Jess and I chatted while waiting for Sarah to come and teach us stuff. I finally succumbed to the Mountain Doop and the Coffee and finally made my way to the bathroom. Man was I sweating over that. *grin*
Sarah was cool, by the way. And I had a chance to talk to the people I�ll be working with.
The one question I asked everyone was, �Do you like it here?�
The answer from every single person was, �I love it here. This is the first job that I actually like coming to.�
Either they�re all coked up on caffeine or they�re brain washed�.or they really love their job. I hope it�s the latter.



    follow me on Twitter
    << >>