-
* 2009-07-21 - 9:26 p.m. *

I can�t say things aren�t super, mega stressful right now.
My folks are in town and no matter how much preparation I had, I was not ready for the shock that hit me when I first saw my mother.
I can�t put into words how devastating this week has been so far. She�s a toddler in a way. She needs constant supervision otherwise she�ll fall. She has no strength, can�t use her tongue, lips or cheeks. She can�t eat much; she can hardly drink anything because her throat is starting to fail her too. She has no real control of the muscles in her jaw so she clenches her teeth and it causes her severe pain. I sat with her this morning, holding an icepack to her face while she sobbed and held a napkin to her mouth because the poor darling can�t help but drool on herself.
The sparkle in her eyes is completely gone. Now it�s just a defeated, scared little girl in there.
My dad is trying to be tough but I can see how much this is hurting him. He�s losing the love of his life and can�t do anything about it. He holds her hand and tells her how beautiful she is and all I want to do is protect them from all of this.
I was so fortunate to grow up in a house with such loving parents and I�m so grateful that I had a chance to know these two very special people�
I�m so tired.
Emotionally, physically, mentally.
I have my baby, my very sick mother and my dad who deserves a little care because he�s spent the last couple of years caring for my mom. I�m running myself ragged but I can�t let them know that it�s affecting me the way it is. I don�t want them to leave. Not yet. This is probably the last time I�ll see my mom alive.

    follow me on Twitter
    << >>