12/20/2007
* 2007-12-20 - 9:26 a.m. *

�ello Luvs!!!
Missed me? I really missed you.
Things are going well at the Schmucks. Love it. I�m still a newbie and I�m not totally efficient yet but I�m doing well enough to keep up with the old timers. My hours are all over the place though. One day I�m opening at 5am, the next I�m coming it at 1pm and staying until 7. Just as long as I don�t have to close. I told my manager that there�s no way I can work past 7. I just get dummer and dummer as the day goes on, �If you want me on the top of my game, the earlier the better.� Which I why I�ve probably opened 4 times in the last six days.
***
Mike�s getting his tooth fixed today. Well part one of a three-step process. Did I tell you guys that he chipped his front tooth?? Poor thing�..
Actually his tooth was chipped when he was a kid. He had it fixed and then one day, a couple of months ago, his tooth came apart. Just like that. He had it fixed again, kind of a temporary thing until our insurance kicked in, but it didn�t stay fixed for long. He�s been messing with it constantly and his lip keeps getting cut up. I told him that he needs to just bite the bullet and get it done. Our insurance isn�t going to cover much of the procedure anyway so why wait until March? So he made the appointment yesterday and he went in first thing this morning. Our dentist is kick ass.
***
Tuesday of next week (x-mas day), Mike and I will be on a plane to visit my mom. I haven�t really talked about my mom lately. I guess it�s because I know that as soon as I write it down here, I�m going to have to deal with it.
My mom is sick.
For a 70 year old woman, she looks pretty damn good. She�s strong, she�s fun, she�s tough�.well she�s a Capricorn. She doesn�t take shit from anyone and deals out blows as quickly as they�re given. She�s Mrs. Rambo, as everyone who�s met her calls her. She�s done crazy things like grabbed a 7ft rattle snake by the head to protect her kids. She handles a shot gun as well as she handles a spatula. *grin* I still think she�s the best cook in the world. We may be astrological opposites but we�re so alike it�s a little scary. She�s been my best friend ever since I could remember.
�I love you, Mommy.�
�I love you too, Baby.�
That was one of my first memories.
She was my world as an infant. And now as an adult I feel that our souls followed each other into this life. She�s my mother and my little sister.

When she came to visit this past summer, she had trouble talking. She would take a long time to say what she needed to. And when she didn�t have to talk, she would sit silently to avoid embarrassment. She would say things that a child would say and have giggle fits for no reason.
When she went to the doctor they ruled out a stroke.
In the past six months she�s going through so many tests and no one knew what was wrong.
Finally a neurologist discovered that she either has a virus in her brain or she has some disease that I can�t even pronounce, much less spell. Soon she�ll get tremors. Then she�ll lose her sense of balance. After that she�ll lose muscle function.
We were all hoping it�s a virus that will eventually go away but as time goes on, she�s not getting any better.
I feel my time with my mother is slipping away and I hate that she�s so far away. It was my choice to move away from her. Now I can�t be there for her when she needs me.


    follow me on Twitter
    << >>