Running woMan
* 2013-10-19 - 7:28 a.m. *

I started running. I don't have a gym membership anymore so I decided to take advantage of living in the country and utilize all of the space and open roads for my work outs. I just need to be careful now that hunting season is around the corner. I'm not sure if I wrote about almost getting shot this last summer. I was playing with my kids in the back yard and the neighbors behind us were target shooting. No biggie, they live about around a mile away and our neighbors are really good at having safe, reinforced backings behind their targets. This particular neighbor didn't. I was pushing my kids on the swing and I heard a shot. Then I heard a high pitch twing and air rushing by my ear. Then there was a ricochet twang of metal and thunk. Not sure where the bullet ended up but I didn't care. I grabbed Emmy off the swing and pulled Livy behind me as we ran into the house. I was so angry. I wanted to run over there and eat some spleens. Instead I called Mike. He left work early and drove over to the neighbors and gave them a very strong worded education on gun safety and pretty much emasculated the shooter. They haven't target practiced since.
We have lots of deer blinds around the area so we normally don't leave the safety of our home during hunting season. I'll have to find some bright running gear that can also keep me warm thru our very cold winters. I'm really excited about getting back in shape!!

    follow me on Twitter
    << >>