Another Flare
* 2007-08-20 - 9:57 a.m. *

I�m definitely going through a full blown flare. Not fun.
I just slept eleven hours and I�m still exhausted.
But I�m a lot better off then I was yesterday.
I found myself stuck on the stairs leading down to the basement. I had a little ache in my belly but nothing serious and Mike went down to switch over the clothes to the dryer. I was following him down because he was saying something and I didn�t quite hear it all. And then BAM! The real pain came. The kind of pain that doubles you over and holds you there until it decides it�s done with you. Mike tried to lift me but just moving me slightly sent me into more pain.
The GOOD thing about intestinal pain is that it doesn�t last very long. It comes in waves. So there are small breaks in between each crippling spasm.
So I had a small window to get myself up the stairs. And then a second window to get off of the floor and onto the couch.
Mike was trying to help but I didn�t want him lifting me. The poor thing felt a little helpless.
I finally made it to my bed after a couple of heavy duty pain pills and a double dose of my meds.
I knew I shouldn�t have eaten that piece of cake at the shower. I was so good up to that point.
But it doesn�t matter how good I was. I should have known that I wasn�t doing well and that going just a little off of my diet would be the single straw that would break this camels back. I�m on a banana diet for the day. That�s if I can get a banana down. The thought of eating right now is just disgusting.
Maybe some watered down coffee and honey will fill the hole a little. I need to keep my blood sugars up.

Speaking of not being hungry, I was planning on giving you guys my ceviche recipe today. It is my own take on it so it might not be very authentic but I dig it.

� lb of cleaned and deveined shrimp
� lb of scallops
10 limes juiced (don�t buy store bought lime juice. That stuff just ruins the flavor)
� cup of olive oil
2 large tomatoes
1 small onion
1or 2 jalapeno or Serrano peppers (Do not deseed. Leave all of the spicy goodness with the peppers where it belongs. *grin*)
fresh cilantro chopped
Couple of pinches of salt
Ground black pepper to taste
Palm full of Garlic powder
Palm full of onion powder
Third of a palm full of cumin powder

First cut the raw shrimp and scallops into quarters and place them in a ceramic or plastic bowl (Don�t use metal because it causes issues with the acid from the limes). Pour the lime juice over them, just enough to cover and place a towel over the bowl. Put the rest of the lime juice aside.
Let the proteins marinate in the fridge for about 4 hours or so. The shrimp should turn a pretty pinkish color.
After the shrimp and scallops are properly marinated, take them out of the lime juice and mix them with rest of the unused lime juice, olive oil, tomatoes, onions, peppers and a hand full of the chopped cilantro in a separate bowl. Mix in the spices to taste. Marinade in the fridge for another 20 minutes to an hour before serving.

I like to serve the ceviche in warm corn tortillas topped with more cilantro and avocado slices. Yum!

Also, If you don�t have a lot of time to cook the shrimp and scallops in the lime juice, I sometimes buy them cooked from the store and marinate them in lime juice for 10-15 minutes and then follow the rest of the directions. It�s not perfect but it�s still good.



    follow me on Twitter
    << >>