The great arrival
* 2011-10-17 - 11:47 a.m. *

Our baby girl is now 6 days old. She's incredible. So sweet. So peaceful. She eats, she sleeps, she poops all with the serenity of a Shaolin Monk.
I like to think she has more of my temperament.
Our sweet Livy, on the other hand has a terrible cold and has been keeping us up every night since we've been home.
What can I say, Mama is tired.
I love my little angel, but she is so high maintenance.
***
The delivary went well. I used the hypnobirthing techniques but I opted on using the epidural.
I started getting contractions off and on over the weekend and my entire body ached. Tuesday morning I woke up around 4:30am to some pretty intense contractions that would come in waves, three every hour. So I had Mike take Livy to Nana's house so that I could relax and rest. It was nice.
I watched tv, read my book, took a nap and ate whatever I felt like having. 3pm rolled around and I was sitting in the tub and I realized that things were becoming a little more intense. I called Mike, "I think I'm officially in labor. We should probably plan on heading to the hospital around 5 or 6."
"Ok, Honey. Whatever you think."
I called back at 3:30, "Yeah....maybe we should go now."
We arrived around 4, I was officially checked in at 5, they administered fluids at 6 and the epidural was administered around 7:30.
While the doctor was giving me my drugs I started to get the urge to push but I kept my mouth shut. I wanted my epidural first.
I have a really low blood pressure to begin with so when it started dropping, people started panicking. Then Emily's heart rate started going crazy.
I told the nurse, "I'm going to start breathing the baby down now," and she just looked at me like I didn't know what I was talking about.
"Let me see where you are first." So she did a little checky-check and sure enough I had gone from 2 to 8cm. The doctor was kind of a prick. He totally discounted the hypnobirthing techniques and when I started to breathe down he made the idiotic comment of, "Is this "breathing down" anything like pushing?" He then unfolded his arms from in front of his chest and pulled his smock off. "Call me when something happens."
Five minutes later the nurse was trying to hold Emily inside as she screamed into the bed call button, "Everyone come quickly. I need help NOW!"
That poor nurse almost had to deliver my baby all by herself.
Fortunately the asshole doctor didn't come back. Instead it was the Dr. that delivered Livy. He is the most wonderful man in the world. He was all smiles, "I know you two! So glad to see you!"
Mike then got his attention by pointing at the baby popping out of my girly bits and shouted, "BABY!"
Yup, that's how my little Emily came into the world; fast and furious after a very long wait.
10/11/2011 @8:01pm
7lbs 0oz
19.5 inches long

    follow me on Twitter
    << >>