Soy = depression
* 2008-02-13 - 9:13 a.m. *

I haven�t been by for a while. I�ve got the same affliction that pretty much everyone in the Midwest gets, the mid-winter blues. It has a name now. Seasonal Affect Disorder, or SAD. Yup, I�m sad. Mike�s going to upgrade my gym membership so that I can get unlimited access to the tanning beds; maybe that will help a little.
My job is fabulous. Who wouldn�t love being surrounded by amazing people while being silly and having access to as much coffee as you want? And I get a pay check! I�m already being steered into a supervisor position but I don�t think I want that responsibility. I just want to make coffee. Is that so wrong?
***
So I started drinking soy milk in my lattes. I�m lactose intolerant and there�s no way I�m going to sacrifice my good health over a tasty beverage. Well, after a couple of weeks of heavy soy drinking, I started to develop cysts in my breasts. I�m very familiar with cysts, I�ve been dealing with them since I was 16. These fuckers were very painful. And then I started getting SEVERE depression. I would cry and cry and then I�d go into a catatonic state for a couple of hours. I would just sit on the floor and stare at a blank wall and time would just fly by.
I increased my exercise routine, I tried to keep myself busy and I reevaluated my relationship to see if maybe something was causing me to be depressed. Everything isn�t perfect, my mom is sick and far away, my hubby is�.well fabulous, so it wasn�t that. My friendships are good�..
Well, I had a huge break from work (a few days) and I didn�t have any soy in those few days. Ta-da! I had no depression. I was back to normal. My boobs didn�t hurt as much�hmmm�.
Then my day back to work I had a soy misto�. �Wa-wa-wa!� I was depressed all over again.
Come to find out soy milk has estrogen and large amounts of estrogen makes you crazy. Who knew? Apparently a bunch of people other then me.
So I started drinking Almond Milk. Tastes really good and hasn�t sent me over the edge.
Unfortunately I still have the cyst problem and my cycle is off. Oh well, we live, we learn and then we get Luvs. Right?
***
Puppy is doing well by the way. She�s out of her cast and I have to keep her on restrictive activity. Do you know how hard it is to keep a puppy still??? It�s nearly impossible. I have her leash tied to my waist at all times or she�s kept in her kennel. That poor puppy just wants to run!!
I�ll have pictures for you guys soon.
Man I miss you all. I�ll try to stop by as much as I can.
Love you!
X

    follow me on Twitter
    << >>