Freaky Friday
* 2007-09-17 - 11:10 a.m. *

This is a really long one but I have to vent a little.
Talking about a crazy weekend.
Actually...I think I may have been the crazy one.
Well�only on Friday. *grin*
I was feeling particularly sensitive the whole day. I wanted to burst into tears on the drop of a hat and I was taking everything Mike said the wrong way.
I was definitely conscious of it so I kept it to myself if my feelings seemed a little bruised. �This is just crazy, X. You just need to calm down. You need to chill�.� And so on. I was giving myself a lot of pep talks.
That night we had dinner with some good friends at a Japanese steakhouse and it was a blast. I had half a glass of plum wine and I was definitely feeling a buzz.
After that we met my dear friend William at the karaoke bar. It was his birthday this last weekend and I wanted to hang out with him.
Now, everyone needs to understand mine and Mike�s dynamics when we go out. We can spend the entire night not talking to each other. Sure, we�ll give each other googley eyes, walk past each other and pinch the other�s butt and flirt with each other throughout the night, but we generally mind our own business. He talks to his friends, I talk to mine. We�ll check in here and there but it�s not really necessary because we�re always keeping one eye on the other.
Well, Friday I�m hanging out with my buddy William and we�re sitting in a corner close to the stage. I had picked that place when we first got there because it�s less claustrophobic. I was trying to set a trend for the rest of our party but they were determined to sit in the middle of the bar with tons of people squishing around them. Not my thing.
So soon it�s just William and me talking about this and that and I get up a couple of times to sing. William wants to play pool. Sure.
We�re playing pool and then Mike starts getting clingy.
Like weird clingy. And then he said something that really bugged me, �I love you more then anyone else ever could.�
What?
Well, apparently these friends of Mike�s, the ones that don�t really know me or mine and Mike�s relationship, are questioning why I�m hanging out with my buddy instead of clinging to Mike like some love sick, insecure woman.
Mike�s drunk and his naturally suspicious brain goes into overdrive.
�Well, why is she just hanging out with William, what are they talking about�blah, blah, blah.�
So him getting weird with me makes me start to think. �He can have female friends and I don�t get in a huff but I have a male friend and he�s going to act like a jerk?� And then the two words that kept replaying over and over in my head, �Double standard.�

The crowd starts dwindling around 1 and William has to head home. Every single one of our friends are drunker then skunks in whisky and I suggest to drive Mike, Amber and Jay home. �Let�s go guys.�
The main cue was when Mike was trying to dance with me and couldn�t stand up straight. I hadn�t seen him drink that much in a long time so I was a little worried.
I got a couple of bottle waters to go and we headed home.
We dropped off Amber and Jay at the bar down the road from us where they left their car and Mike and I had a nice little talk.
We discussed why he was being weird but he couldn�t grasp anything I was saying and it was fairly useless.
We get home and surprise! There�s the rest of our buddies�.I was a little pissed that they showed up unannounced for an after bar party. Especially when I wasn�t in the mood and Mike really needed to get to bed.
They go into the bar down stairs and are having shots and talking shit and I finally get calm enough to go down and join them.
Scotty is there, drunk and stupid and he kind of pushes me. Not enough to knock me over, just kind of a displacement kind of thing.
I snapped.
The next thing I know, Scotty is on the ground with blood all over his face and in his mouth and I�m running to get him ice and paper towels.
We had gotten into a scuffle and the one thing I remember hearing was Mike joke about my boobs popping out.
Which by the way one did, but only Scotty and Amber saw it. There�s Scotty, looking at me like I�m the Virgin Mary (he was in prison for a few months) and Amber�s helping me get the blood off his face and I have this baggie of ice in my hands.
I look up and I see Mike and I swear I felt my pupils dilate. It was an eye spasm that was connected to the arm holding the ice. The next thing I know that ice is flying and hits Mike square in the nuts.
I�m pissed I�m crabby, I�m carrying all of the hurt feelings and misunderstandings from the entire day and I decide that I want to just get in my car and leave.
So I throw on a sweater, tie on some sensible shoes and Mike stops me before I leave.
He has no clue as to why I�m mad. Doesn�t understand anything that just happened and so I explain it to him how big of a jerk he is.
I went to bed pissed and woke up pissed.
I had to explain everything to him AGAIN the next morning while he was sober.
He�s been apologizing ever since.
Things are much better now and everything is gravy but man was I one crazy female on Friday.


    follow me on Twitter
    << >>