Joint Custody
* 2008-08-01 - 11:04 a.m. *

Our best friends our splitting up.
What do you say to something like that.
How are you supposed to feel.
Two people we care about so much are not going to be together anymore.
I can�t say I didn�t see it coming.
I just wish it was something that I was making up.
The air they carried around them.
The desperation, the fear, the denial�.
�Is everything ok?�
�Oh yeah, just tired.�
More like, �Just confused and unhappy.�
I don�t want to lose them. I don�t want to lose him or her.
I know this is going to be so hard for them but I know that this direction they are taking is the best for both of them.
She needs to grow. He really needs to grow.
At least that�s how I see it.
I can�t help but get scared a little.
Will Mike ever stop wanting to be with me?
Will he ever not love me?
I see the fear in his eyes too.
Then we realize that we�re pretty healthy, relationship wise.
We�re independent individuals that have our own identities.
We have our own friends.
We encourage each other to have fun without the other.
Wine tastings, boys nights, open jams�.
One on one time with our buddies.
No one really knows how important that is until you realize that you are suddenly attached to someone at the hip and have no idea how to break away except to leave them forever.
Absence really does make the heart grow fonder.
At least minor bits of absence.
He�s going to be staying with us for a week.
I hope to spend some one on one time with her too.
We�ll have to treat this like joint custody or something.
We get her one weekend and him the next.




    follow me on Twitter
    << >>