A little more sane
* 2009-05-12 - 3:45 p.m. *

I spent half of the day in bed.
Olivia was agreeable and very cooperative. I fed her and snuggled with her in bed and both of us were out for a good three hours or so.
After her feeding we had tummy time and I played with her hands and feet as she smiled up at me with glee for about 10 minutes or so. That�s all it took and then she was out cold. I wish she would do that at night.
When Mike got home last night (2:30 this morning) Olivia had just fallen asleep. I expressed milk and he washed bottles so that I could have Olivia�s meals ready for today.
At least the milk machine is in prime condition.
It�s 3pm and I had a chance to eat one meal. Actually I�m having my lunch as I type this.
I am so grateful for this outlet. To be able to write out my issues is exactly what I need right now.
Mike isn�t working tonight so I�ll be able to at least have him watch Olivia while I shower.
He loves to hold her but doesn�t really know what to do with her when she cries or needs to be burped or just happens to spit up. �I don�t know whether to call 911 or to call you.�
The couple of times he tried to take a night shift I ended up taking it over because he had no clue what to do.
I have only a little bit more experience than he does with babies but I guess the motherly instinct isn�t just a myth.
At least he tries.
Being a new mom is an awesome diet. I had packed on a total of 60to 70 lbs by the time Olivia was born. In the last 4 � weeks I�ve lost 40.
I think my boobs weigh around 20lbs though. They�re heavy enough to make my back hurt. I hate being in this in-between size. None of my old clothes fit but all of my maternity clothes are too big. I look like a cross between a prostitute and a bag lady.
Sometimes Little Bo will get sassy and bite the excess fabric around my butt and give it a tug. I think she�s trying to tell me that I need a new pair of jeans. She�s such a good dog. She is super protective of Olivia and me and extremely respectful of the baby. And she�s such a dork sometimes�
I think I might convince Mike to watch the baby for a little longer then a shower and take my poor dog for a walk.
Thank you for being so supportive, Violetsmile and Miss Rosie. You have no idea how much I need the encouragement from other moms that have gone through the same thing. *hugs*

    follow me on Twitter
    << >>