A very TINY nibble of Key West
* 2008-05-14 - 1:24 p.m. *

While we were in Key West, all ten of us decided to do an excursion together. We had a choice between snorkeling, a ghost tour or the Taste of Key West tour.
Since all of us are major food and wine snobs, we decided to do the taste tour.
Well�we didn�t all decide�Actually Angela and Shane decided and we kind of included Jay and Amber with out them really knowing about it.
Not that I�m going to say I�m always right, but I kept telling everyone that they didn�t want to sign up for excursions, but being the smallest person in a group is kind of a disadvantage. I ended up just standing off to the side while all the alpha males tried to get a hold of Amber and Jay.
(I tell you what *rolls eyes*, it�s not easy hanging in a group of strong personalities. Mine included.)
So it�s the day of the excursion and the tour guide was 15 minutes late.
Then we go do our first stop. Conch fritters�.YUM!!!! The best thing I�ve ever tasted. It may have had something to do with the fact that I was STARVING.
I had one. It was about an inch in diameter. �We can�t have more????�
�Nope, one per guest.�
DAGH!!!
One hour later we made it to our next stop. Yet again a tiny sample of heaven. Itty bitty sample.
The woman would not shut up. She had a lot of historical knowledge of the place but she had no focus. She�d start talking about one thing and then lose her thought and move on to the next.
�Someone must be on drugs.� I think It was Shane or Mike that said that.
�No, I think someone forgot to TAKE their drugs.� I�m more then sure that was Amber�s statement.
I found myself walking on and trying to coax the tour guide to follow. *hands clapping* �Come on. Come on. That�s a good girl!�
We were on the second hour and we made it to the third place. We were STARVING and dehydrated. We ended up at a hot sauce bar. I was excited about it but by this point everyone just wanted to leave. There were 2 more stops!!!!!!
Half the tour slipped away (I heard later from the few that stayed that it lasted another 2 hours).
Mike and I went back to the boat and ordered room service.
I never tasted a burger that was as fantastic as the one I ordered. We then had a little dessert and then a little more dessert (if you know what I mean) *wink*.


    follow me on Twitter
    << >>