Puppy Madness!!!
* 2008-01-11 - 11:56 a.m. *

Having the puppy is such a rewarding experience but MAN would I love to get some sleep!!!!
Getting up twice a night to have the puppy eliminate outside is kind of a pain in the ass, especially in below freezing temperatures. Mike�s really good about taking up the slack though. He�s such a good daddy. *grin*
I took her out twice last night and he woke up with her and gave her breakfast.
Bo and I play pretty much all day and she is so well adjusted.
Our work schedules work out perfectly. I only work at the Schmucks 4 days a week and usually they�re morning shifts, so I get home around 11am. And when I don�t get to work the mornings, Mike comes home and feeds the puppy lunch and plays with her for a while.
Crate training is the best thing in the world!!! She is already starting to scratch at the door to be let out and I�ve let her go by her self a couple of times. She loves her independence but she�s still mamma�s girl. If I don�t come following after her she tends to come back to the house and �herd� me in the direction she wants to go.
The sheep dog instincts are strong with this one.
I used to be able to give her a bath in the bathroom sink�now she has graduated to the kitchen sink. Soon it will be the tub. She�s growing so fast.
Her favorite thing to do right now is go snooping around the bunny dens in our front yard. So after she�s done her business I ask her, �Do you want to go see the bunnies?� And she takes off in the direction of the dens. I have to really keep her under check now that she�s smaller then me. She has to follow Mommy!! She can�t be leading me around like a rag doll when she�s weighing in at 90lbs.
We�re having dominance issues with her right now. She was the �runt� of the litter and was the fighter among her brothers and sisters. She fought for food. She fought for playtime with mommy and she let everyone know who was boss among her littermates. Now she thinks she has to fight with us. I�ve already had to pin her down gently in order for her to understand the pecking order. Man did she fight me too!!! She squirmed and growled, trying to nip at my fingers. I was calm but assertive and she finally just relaxed. I then rubbed her belly and praised her for being a good dog. She�s getting better.
For being only 7 weeks, she�s acting like she�s 10. But she�s the size of a 5 week old puppy. I�m going to be taking her to visit her father�s owner, �Kat�, sometime this week to go visit another litter of puppies so she can play. Kat breeds St. Bernards and has been such a great help to us. She gave us free vaccinations and has so many helpful tips.
But anyway, now you guys know what has been keeping me busy this past week. Puppy and a major cold that won�t go away because I don�t sleep. Dagh!!!
Well, I�ll catch up with all of you real soon. Love you all and that includes Sweet Pea and Second Love. I know I don�t get to visit much but I still send lots of prayers and good feelings your way.
*hugs* X

    follow me on Twitter
    << >>