Resurface
* 2008-11-13 - 11:18 a.m. *

The baby has been moving a lot lately.
If feels like I have a gas bubble jumping around a few inches down from my belly button.
I have a feeling that Baby is going to be a late night partier like Daddy.
***
It�s odd how the old, depressed, me can just resurface out of the blue. Pun intended.
The reason was due to the love of my life stabbing me repeatedly in the chest for 5 minutes. At least that�s what it felt like.
He wasn�t feeling well, a touch of the flu, and he needed to go home for some rest. I promised that I would watch the office and he was so grateful.
We were expecting a call from a customer and I needed to get some info from her. She�s such a sweet lady, we got along so well and when she called we chatted about kids for a good 10 minutes.
The main reason she went with us was because her other agent was never in the office and I didn�t want her to think that Mike was gone all of the time. So I clued her in on the fact that he wasn�t feeling well but that he would be back later and he�d give her a call.
She was perfectly fine with that, gave me the info I needed and we hung up.
Mike calls and I told him that I told her that he wasn�t feeling well and he just about flipped.
I don�t even think I�ve heard him yell at the dog the way he yelled at me.
I was calm, �You�re getting angry over something very mundane.�
He wouldn�t stop yelling and then he decided that he was going to turn the car around and come back to the office.
He gets to the office, still very angry and says something about how he can�t trust me.
What???
I melted.
I walked past him and out the door, got in my car and drove home.
The darkness enveloped me. The suffocating liquid of depression swallowed me whole and I was stuck.
I was sitting at the kitchen table and I noticed that the clock read 4pm. �Have I been sitting here for almost an hour?�
I still had my car keys in my hand, I was still in my coat and my purse was still on my shoulder.
The dog was whining and I realized that I hadn�t even let her out yet.
I walked around the yard with her but the pillow case was still duct taped around my neck.
Mike called to apologize and I couldn�t bring myself to talk to him.
I baked cinnamon rolls.
When he got home he gently pulled me against him and held me.
I was a wreck.
�Do you want to talk about it?�
�No.�
We sat on the couch together as he soothed me until he had to leave to run karaoke.
I took a long shower, turned on the fireplace in our bedroom and snuggled up on the bed with the dog. I read my book and finally fell asleep.
I woke up and Baby was having a party in my belly. I�m feeling normal again.
It�s strange how the old me can just resurface out of the blue.


    follow me on Twitter
    << >>